Personal Essay: Don’t Hunt what you can’t Roast.

As I talked about in a previous post, I was feeling anxious about going to camp. Yes, there were some social situations that had me feeling a little out of my comfort zone. It’s kind of ironic that the only place I post about my anxiety is my blog for the Newspaper, but the newspaper staff don’t have any idea I have it.

Speaking of anxiety, let me take this moment just to say I’m going to be going to a therapist about it. I’m nervous, so if you have any experience in what that’s like, comment down below.

So, a long story short I somehow became well-known for comebacks and roasts on this trip which was interesting to say the least. I’m known for this stuff in my church’s youth group too–but I don’t think of myself as good at those things, so it feels a little weird.

But, quickly, I started on the lookout for the next comment that would become prey to my roasting abilities. It became fun–it’s always fun–and let’s be honest the roasts still weren’t amazing.

The thing about people who are often roasting others is that they have to be looking, they have to be extremely observant. It’s not easy. It’s surprisingly difficult. All of the sudden, your one legendary comment means nothing. You need to keep cooking up the content, making newer and better insults.

I’m not all that invested in comebacks, honestly. Maybe the Chronicle Staff will be blessed by my additions sometimes, but this won’t be an everyday experience.

Because after all, that’s a lot of hunting. And you really shouldn’t hunt for meat you can’t roast.

Leave a Reply

